Tuesday, November 10, 2009

"Scotiabank Giller Prize"- November 10...

Click image to enlarge...

Televised live, the "ScotiaBank Giller Prize" awards included Joseph Boyden, last year's Giller Prize winner for his novel "Through Black Spruce", presenting author Kim Echlin's "The Disappeared".

Canadian actor Hugh "Flashpoint" Dillon presented author Colin McAdam's "Fall".

Actress Rachelle "Twilight" Lefevre presented author Anne Michaels' "The Winter Vault".

Author Wayne Johnston presented Linden MacIntyre's "The Bishop's Man".

Broadcaster/author Paula Todd presented Annabel Lyon's "The Golden Mean"..

The "Scotiabank Giller Prize" awards $50,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English and $5,000 to each of the finalists. The Awards were named in honour of late literary journalist Doris Giller, founded in 1994 by her husband Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch.

Update: Linden MacIntyre has been named the 2009 winner of the Scotiabank Giller Prize for his novel "The Bishop’s Man", published by Random House Canada. The announcement was made live on Bravo! and BookTelevision at the black-tie dinner/award ceremony that drew nearly 500 members of the local publishing, media and arts communities...